The First-ever Student Film Review Held at ASPU

Karine Vardanyan, Christine Margaryan and Karen Sanamyan, authors and directors of the films “Me…,”  “Last Reportage,” “Schumers,” took the three honorary places at the “Kadr” (Frame) student film review held on November 15. All the three study at the Department of TV Directing, Faculty of Culture, Armenian State Pedagogical University.

The professorial staff of the Department had submitted for the review 15 out of the 50 feature, copyright and popular science films authored and directed by undergraduate and graduate students of the Department.

The presentees were welcomed by the Dean of Faculty of Culture, Professor Gevorg Tadevosyan, Head of Directing Department Armen Elbakyan, and lecturer of the same Department, Prof. Suren Hasmikyan.

“Each of us has their own vision of the world. We lead an enclosed life without noticing the work done by our contemporaries. This film review was an important step and a good opportunity to get acquainted with one another’s works and outlook,” Armen Elbakyan said in his welcoming remarks and added that all the films were good.

At the same time, he stressed that all of them had shortcomings determined by the choice of topics rather than the lack of shooting opportunities.

Professor Suren Hasmikyan also highlighted the film review and said, “We live in times where no one seems to need anything. At least 200 films are shot in Armenia annually but sometimes friends do not watch each other’s films. Films cannot exist without an audience; everything is at stake.”

The professor called on everyone to pay greater attention to the films created by students, recalling the well-known directors who surprised and enraptured representatives of different generations with their first films.

The review was followed by a discussion and award-giving ceremony.

By the decision of the Dean of the Faculty, Prof. Gevorg Tadevosyan, Head of the Department, Prof. Armen Elbakyan and professorial staff of the Department, the authors of the 15 films were given Letters of Appreciation. The authors of the best three films, Karine Vardanyan, Christine Margaryan and Karen Sanamyan, also received prize money.